Top 10 Certifications for Cybersecurity Professionals in 2022

Cybersecurity, also known as computer security or information security, is the practice of protecting computers and networks from damage, theft, loss, or unauthorized access.

Bad actors have more opportunities to steal, damage, or disrupt as our interconnectivity grows. Cybercrime is on the rise, which has led to a greater demand for cybersecurity professionals. Between 2020 and 2030, the job outlook is expected to increase by 33%

In this article, we will cover the Top 10 Cybersecurity Certifications.

1) Certified Ethical Hacker – CEH

The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) establishes and oversees standards for professional penetration testers and ethical hackers. An excellent professional must know recent malware and hacking techniques to prevent future customers from falling for security holes.

This certification allows you to use the techniques outlined below.

  1. Network scanning
  2. System hacking.
  3. Host enumeration.
  4. Cloud computing.
  5. Social engineering.
  6. Honeypots and Firewalls.
  7. Malware threats.
  8. Web server hacking.
  9. Cryptography.
  10. IDS Evasion.
  11. Use of sniffers.
  12. Hacking wireless networks.
  13. Session Hijacking.
  14. SQL injection.
  15. Denial of Service Attacks.
  16. Hacking mobile platforms.

2) GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH)

This certification covers security strategies and the fundamentals of penetration testing. This exam requires an understanding and proficiency in denial-of-service attacks, client attacks, and other standard attack methods. These attacks should also be prevented and contained by test-takers. The certification exam is four hours long and includes over 100 questions. Some are multiple-choice, while others are lab-based.


IACRB or Information Assurance Certification Review Board is responsible for a wide range of excellent credentials. CPT’s exam is two hours long and intended to provide operational information and pen testing skills. CPT (Certified Penetration Tester), like all other credentials from IACRB, is valid for four years. CPT’s main focus areas are nine fields.

  1. Network protocol attacks.
  2. Methodologies for pen testing
  3. Identification of vulnerability
  4. Network reconciliation.
  5. Rootkits and covert channels.
  6. Web app vulnerabilities
  7. Wireless security flaws
  8. Windows exploits.
  9. UNIX and Linux exploits.

4) Comptia Pentest+

The certification’s 165-minute exam requires a vast amount of penetration testing knowledge. It consists of 85 questions that require test taker’s knowledge to identify security vulnerabilities on traditional desktops, servers, mobile, and cloud environments. You will need to analyze Python and Bash codes and exploit apps and Bluetooth connections vulnerabilities.


Candidates who have the skills, knowledge, and ability to perform advanced penetration tests will be able to take this valuable test. To be successful in this pen test, you need to be a professional and have the skills of an advanced attacker. Test takers must also spot critical system security mistakes and categorize risks that may affect a business.

To be awarded this certification, you must have the following skills:

  1. Exploitation of clients
  2. Network exploitation
  3. Advanced stack smashing
  4. Advanced techniques for fuzzing
  5. Network Access
  6. Crypto Pen Testing

6) Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

The practical exam for this certification in penetration testing using Kali Linux is grueling. It lasts 24 hours and focuses only on a simulated penetration test using Offensive Security’s remote VPN. Test-takers must demonstrate their knowledge of remote and client-side attacks to pass. They might also need to exploit buffer overload, bypass antivirus protections, and tunnel through firewalls. As with most penetration testing simulations, this exam rewards creative and quick thinking.

7) Licensed Penetration Tester Masters (LPT)

Official Penetration Tester Master is a specialist-level EC-Council certification. LPT Master does not have pre-determined qualification criteria. This is in contrast to the CEH assertion. Recertification is required after three years. This is the most advanced certificate offered by the Security Council of EC. This credential is awarded to candidates who complete a task set by the EC-Council. The task involves a complete black-box penetration test on a network. The entire process must be followed, including enumeration, reconnaissance, scanning, managing accessibility, and obtaining access.

8) Certified Red Team Operations Professional (CRTOP)

The Red Team Operations certification follows the same format of 50 multiple-choice questions as the other IASCB exams. It takes two hours to complete. Red Teams are a subfield of penetration testing that is very stealthy. This certification has a slightly different focus. These in-house teams are found at large companies like Microsoft. They identify cybersecurity issues and exploit them using social engineering techniques to test breach-detection systems. The exam examines Red Team roles, responsibilities, reporting, and in-person reconnaissance.


In the business world, the pen-testing credential of GIAC Penetration Tester is well-known. GIAC has become a respected consultant with a variety of valuable credentials. GPEN focuses on pen testing methodologies and top performers, and legal issues surrounding pen-testing. The credential is valid for four years.

Test takers must demonstrate knowledge in each of the following parts during the three-hour exam:

  1. Host discovery and scanning
  2. Advanced password hashes
  3. Exploitation fundamentals
  4. Formats and password hashes
  5. Planning for pen testing
  6. Move files with exploits
  7. Escalation, exploitation
  8. Vulnerability scanning
  9. Password attacks
  10. CSRF and XSS attacks
  11. Web app injections
  12. Advanced password attacks
  13. Recon of the Web App

10) GIAC Mobile Device Security Analyst (GMOB)

This certification is focused on app, tablet, and smartphone security. It’s a complex and evolving field. Apps can transmit data to thousands of third-party trackers, even on relatively secure iPhones. The 75-question exam lasts two hours and requires test-takers to know how hackers unlock and root mobile phones on different operating systems. They must also be able to protect data from stolen or infected devices.

Hope you liked this article on Top 10 Certifications for Aspiring Cyber Security Professionals in 2022

Are you interested in kickstarting your career in Cybersecurity no matter your educational background or experience? Click Here to find out how.


Care to Share? Please spread the word :)